top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNathan Pullan

Test Shoot 3

Updated: May 1, 2020

Having visited Side Gallery in Newcastle my initial idea of moving image for the project has changed to just creating still portraits. I spoke to Lee who works at Side gallery and asked for his opinion on my project idea and he suggested to just use still portraits rather than moving image. He suggested that the image itself will be more powerful and portray the idea of the project more successfully as the moving image could cause a distraction from the project itself as the viewer may become more interested in the video rather than the message being portrayed.


I then decided to do another test shoot in order to see what the images could look like using medium format film. I shot a roll of Portra 400 on the Mamiya RZ at the University campus to see what a shoot on location would be like compared to my previous studio portraits.


Having got the film developed and scanned I realised that I need to change the framing slightly as there is a little bit too much space around the subject. I would like the subject a little bit more visible in the frame. Although the location is important for the work its more about the relation between the person and the location around them.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Alec Soth Niagara

Over the 3 years of University we have had the pleasure of looking at a vast amount o photographers and a variety of different work. One of my favourite bodies of work I have came across is 'Niagara'

Home Based Photographers

Due to the Covid-19 outbreak it has challenged the way in which we work, it has limited and restricted what we are capable of shooting. Having to find new methods of working due to these restrictions

bottom of page