top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNathan Pullan

4924

Updated: May 1, 2020

Due to the unforeseen circumstances of the outbreak of Covid-19 my current project 'all but clear' has been put on hold. With the current restrictions imposed by the government due to covid-19 it has limited my ideas for projects as the only time we can leave the house is for essentials or for an hour of exercise per day.


Initially I found this really hard having invested so much already into my previous project all but clear. It was hard coming up with an idea for a project within the walls of my own home. After going back to work at Sainsbury's I decided I would document life as a key worker within a supermarket during a pandemic. For key workers they are putting their own and their families health at risk in order for everybody to still be able to shop and get groceries. Sainsbury's and many other supermarket chains have had to change the way customers shop in order to keep them and their colleagues safe from the virus. Trolley cleaning stations, plastic shields round tills, one way systems, 2 metre markings on the floor are just a few methods implemented to limit the risk for everybody.


The name 4924 comes from the store number of the Sainsburys Local that I work in. For many that I work with there is a sense of pride within the team, everybody is happy doing their bit during the virus however there is still the obvious anxieties and worries. I wanted to document the people putting themselves at risk to help others and also the change in the way people have to shop in order to stay safe.



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Alec Soth Niagara

Over the 3 years of University we have had the pleasure of looking at a vast amount o photographers and a variety of different work. One of my favourite bodies of work I have came across is 'Niagara'

Home Based Photographers

Due to the Covid-19 outbreak it has challenged the way in which we work, it has limited and restricted what we are capable of shooting. Having to find new methods of working due to these restrictions

bottom of page