top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNathan Pullan

4924 Planning

Updated: May 1, 2020

Having to come up with the ideas and get some research done around my new project has been a little more intense than usual. Usually we would have a lot more time to plan our project and do a lot of research before starting to shoot and also have the resources at the University to further the project. However, due to having to change my idea half way through the semester has changed my methods massively.


My first few shifts back at work I had used planning what I wanted to shoot, which areas, where in the store and what would help portray what I wanted to say? Before I started shooting I wanted a clear idea in my head of what I wanted the project to say and what would help portray that. Initially when I started shooting I was using a Canon Digital camera with a 50mm prime lens which I found to be quite difficult as it restricted me as to what I could shoot. I wanted to shoot all my images from a distance of 2 metres as that is the current social distancing rule that is in place but because of the lens I have it limited what I could shoot. Also technically it was quite difficult as the colour balance varied very dramatically from place to place. If I had the normal amount of time to plan I would have realised this earlier.


Now knowing this I've decided to use my iPhone 11 camera as a back up as the lens is a lot wider and I can get the images I want. The only issues I have faced so far is not quite having the same control over my images as I would have using the digital camera.




0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Alec Soth Niagara

Over the 3 years of University we have had the pleasure of looking at a vast amount o photographers and a variety of different work. One of my favourite bodies of work I have came across is 'Niagara'

Home Based Photographers

Due to the Covid-19 outbreak it has challenged the way in which we work, it has limited and restricted what we are capable of shooting. Having to find new methods of working due to these restrictions

bottom of page